#### RESOLUTION NO. 77-2019

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MESQUITE, TEXAS, CANVASSING THE RETURNS AND DECLARING THE RESULTS OF AN ELECTION HELD IN THE CITY OF MESQUITE, TEXAS, ON NOVEMBER 5, 2019, FOR THE ELECTION OF A MAYOR AND CITY COUNCILMEMBERS FOR PLACES 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 AND 6; ORDERING A RUNOFF ELECTION TO BE HELD DECEMBER 14, 2019; AND DECLARING AN EFFECTIVE DATE THEREOF.

WHEREAS, the annual City Election was held on November 5, 2019, in the City of Mesquite, Texas, for the purpose of electing a Mayor (at large) and City Councilmembers (single-member districts) for each of the following places: Nos. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6, for two year terms; and

WHEREAS, it is hereby found and determined that notice of the election was duly given in the form, manner and time required by law, and said election was in all respects legally held and conducted in accordance with applicable laws of the State of Texas and the proceedings calling and governing the holding of such election; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to law, election officials for that election have made their returns to the City Council in the time and manner provided.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MESQUITE, TEXAS:

SECTION 1. That the City Council, having canvassed said returns, has determined that the total number of votes cast in the election held November 5, 2019, was **9,054** and the results of said election are hereby declared to be as follows:

#### Number of votes cast for the Office of Mayor:

<u>N</u>	<u>IAME</u>	NUMBE	ER OF VOTES	<u>%</u>
Bruce Arch Stan Picke			4,628 4,193	52.47% 47.53%

## Number of votes cast for the Office of Councilmember, Place 1:

NUMBER OF VOTES	<u>%</u>
649	45.64%
341	23.98%
432	30.38%
	649 341

### Number of votes cast for the Office of Councilmember, Place 2:

<u>NAME</u>	NUMBER OF VOTES	<u>%</u>
Kenny Green	565	64.87%
Dorothy Patterson	306	35.13%

Administration/City Secretary/Canvass Returns and Ordering Runoff Election/November 14, 2019 Page 2 of 4

## Number of votes cast for the Office of Councilmember, Place 3:

<u>NAME</u>	NUMBER OF VOTES	<u>%</u>
Robert Miklos	859	59.32%
Noe Villarreal	129	8.91%
Jennifer Vidler	460	31.77%

### Number of votes cast for the Office of Councilmember, Place 4:

<u>NAME</u>	NUMBER OF VOTES	<u>%</u>
Tandy Boroughs	616	52.38%
Bryan Odom	560	47.62%

# Number of votes cast for the Office of Councilmember, Place 5:

NAME	NUMBER OF VOTES	<u>%</u>
B. W. Smith	1,027	58.42%
Henry Brown	393	22.35%
Sergio Garcia	338	19.23%

# Number of votes cast for the Office of Councilmember, Place 6:

<u>NAME</u>	NUMBER OF VOTES	<u>%</u>
Daniel Aleman, Jr.	989	54.37%
Christina M. Sowells	830	45.63%

It appearing that <u>Bruce Archer</u> received a majority of votes cast for the Office of Mayor; therefore, he is hereby declared to be elected to said office to serve after qualifying for a term of two (2) years, commencing November 2019, and until a successor shall have been elected and shall have qualified.

It appearing that <u>Kenny Green</u> received a majority of votes cast for the Office of Councilmember, Place 2; therefore, he is hereby declared to be elected to said office to serve after qualifying for a term of two years, commencing November 2019, and until a successor shall have been elected and shall have qualified.

It appearing that <u>Robert Miklos</u> received a majority of votes cast for the Office of Councilmember, Place 3; therefore, he is hereby declared to be elected to said office to serve after qualifying for a term of two years, commencing November 2019, and until a successor shall have been elected and shall have qualified.

It appearing that <u>Tandy Boroughs</u> received a majority of votes cast for the Office of Councilmember, Place 4; therefore, he is hereby declared to be elected to said office to serve after qualifying for a term of two years, commencing November 2019, and until a successor shall have been elected and shall have qualified.

Administration/City Secretary/Canvass Returns and Ordering Runoff Election/November 14, 2019 Page 3 of 4

It appearing that <u>B. W. Smith</u> received a majority of votes cast for the Office of Councilmember, Place 5; therefore, he is hereby declared to be elected to said office to serve after qualifying for a term of two years, commencing November 2019, and until a successor shall have been elected and shall have qualified.

It appearing that <u>Daniel Aleman</u>, <u>Jr.</u> received a majority of votes cast for the Office of Councilmember, Place 6; therefore, he is hereby declared to be elected to said office to serve after qualifying for a term of two years, commencing November 2019, and until a successor shall have been elected and shall have qualified.

It appearing that no candidate received a majority of votes cast for the Office of Councilmember, Place 1; it is necessary to order a runoff election to be held December 14, 2019, for the purpose of determining between <a href="Sherry Wisdom">Sherry Wisdom</a> and <a href="David J. Burris">David J. Burris</a> for the Office of Councilmember, Place 1.

SECTION 2. Early voting by personal appearance for the December 14, 2019, Runoff Election shall be conducted by the Dallas County Elections Department. Toni Pippins-Poole, Dallas County Elections Administrator, Dallas County, is hereby appointed clerk of early voting in compliance with Section 271.006 of the Texas Election Code.

For City of Mesquite registered voters in Dallas County, early voting by personal appearance will be conducted at:

Florence Recreation Center 2501 Whitson Way Mesquite, Texas 75150

on the following dates and times:

November 27 (Wednesday) 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

November 28 and 29 – No Voting due to Thanksgiving Holiday (County is closed)

December 2 - 6 (Monday-Friday) 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

December 7 (Saturday) 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

December 8 (Sunday) 1 p.m. – 6 p.m.

December 9 and 10 (Monday and Tuesday) 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.

An application for a ballot to be voted by mail shall be submitted by mail, carrier delivery, fax or email (scanned application containing an original signature) to:

Toni Pippins-Poole
Early Voting Clerk
Dallas County Elections Department
2377 North Stemmons Freeway, Suite 820
Dallas, Texas 75207
Email: evapplications@dallascounty.org

Eman. evappheations@danascounty.o

Fax: 214.819.6303

Administration/City Secretary/Canvass Returns and Ordering Runoff Election/November 14, 2019 Page 4 of 4

SECTION 3. That this resolution shall take effect immediately upon passage.

DULY RESOLVED by the City Council of the City of Mesquite, Texas, on the 14th day of November 2019.

Stan Pickett

Mayor

ATTEST:

APPROVED AS TO LEGAL FORM:

Sonja Land City Secretary David L. Paschall City Attorney